Top 5 Valentine’s Day Songs

After watching the Grammy’s I realised how much I miss music of the 60’s, 80’s and 90’s. The Beatles’ ending was the best part of the night for me and seeing Sir Paul McCartney rocking out on stage like that at 69 years old made me realise that for truly great musicians, music is timeless.

So I decided to compose a list of my favourite love songs in honour of Valentine’s Day. Here they are, in no particular order (except # 1):

 

1. Something – The Beatles

This song is my favourite because it was written by my favourite Beatle, George Harrison. Frank Sinatra called it “the greatest love song ever written” and if you listen to the lyrics you can see why. It played an important role in getting George recognised as an individual songwriter and paved the way for his solo success.

2. The Search is Over – Survivor

It’s a personal favourite of mine because it was my parents’ wedding song. The lyrics are eerily applicable to their tumultuous marriage and to this day, it still holds the power to bring me to tears.

3. Unchained Melody – The Righteous Brothers

This song sends chills down my spine when I hear it. It always reminds me of the movie “Ghost” that I watched as a child. It was a beautiful depiction of true, selfless love and you can feel the passion in every word of this song.

4. Please Forgive Me – Bryan Adams

He has one of those voices that make you stop and pay attention. His songs seep with sincerity and you feel every word is genuine when you listen to him. The song is about an everlasting and pure love that will remain, even if it must remain alone.

5. I Will Always Love You – Whitney Houston

RIP Whitney. This song would have made the list regardless of the events of the last weekend. As soon as it starts, you feel the power that the song brings with it. Her vocals are flawless in it and this song will remain forever in the hearts of those lucky enough to have been exposed to it. I remember this song with fondness because as a child I would be lifted and danced with, every night to it until the neighbours complained. I will always love you…

Leave a Reply

